Writing

It’s funny how some books you just can’t put down

You know how I went to the library the other week? No? Well I did, I picked up a few books, some from author’s I had read before and other, just totally random books purely because the covers grabbed me. One of the “just grabbed” me books was by the author Samara O’Shea, a blogger writer for the Huffington Post. Simply called “Note to Self”; the book stood out from the shelf and let me know it was there. I was attracted to its vintage looking dust jacket. Even after picking it up and reading its 1st publication date was 2008, the dust jacket looked very much something from the 1950’s or 60’s so I added it to my ever growing pile. HEY its free to borrow, costs only my time and energy to walk around and pick (up to 35 books).


Anyhow back to the book… what a great little find very interesting, all about journaling and writing. Not really a tip or how to book, just her views and how she has done this and that over the years. It starts out about the 1st page on every one of her past and most likely future journals and how the 1st page is always the exciting one, where you write that “this is going to be the day/week/year/time you do something great, or that you “have met your true love” only to be broken hearted days or weeks later; how the 1st page is always the pressure page, the one that you feel you have to write something profound and what you will be known for after you have gone. Like your journals will be found by someone and they will be that amazed they will get them published for all to read ha ha ha ha YEAH RIGHT, we are all Anne Franks!

I started out as a journal writer, I think it’s a great way to express yourself and rant your inner demons, the ones that no one should hear or read about, where you place your inner voice and lock away those special thoughts for ever *insert evil laugh*. I have been a journal person (like the author) since my teens, so sooooooo many decades ago now. I think that you either are one or you are not, there is no in-betweens. I have to say that writing in my journal also helps me when it comes to writing up my blogs, some have even been posted up (not that I say when I do). They can help with remembering stuff/places/people when we have been away and I blog later after we return. I loved the references in the book that her journals where somehow to her future self, even though if her future self-read them they would be of the past and nothing could be changed, oh how very ’12 Monkeys’ or ‘Loppers’ movie like of her and oh so very ME.

Right at the start of the book she was discussing some very good points to helping yourself become a better (what she called – diarist) and they are very good so I am going to share them with you. These points transfer from your journal to your blog or to any type of writing really.


Ask yourself:

  • How am I feeling?
  • How do I want to feel?
  • What do I want to accomplish today?
  • What went wrong today?
  • What went right today?
  • What role do I want to my journal to play in my life?
  • What do I want to learn about myself?
  • What do I want to change about myself?
  • What would I never change about myself?

Tell yourself:

  • Describe the room.
  • Describe the people in the room.
  • Describe the people in your life.
  • Describe yourself.
  • Describe the aspects of your life that you’re pleased with and those areas you’re displeased with.
  • Describe something you have done many times but have never written about e.g. such as eating ice cream or exercising.

Yes, so some are a tad lame. But when you think about it they will improve your writing not matter what you are writing. After doing these for a while they will move from your conscious thought to your sub conscious and they will become second nature. I am nearly there I actually try to do most of these points now, some have already moved to the sub section of my consciousness some are nearly there and others, well I have just started. There is always room for self-improvement I say.

As I have said time before, the more you write the easier it gets! The one thing I hate the most is writers/bloggers block, where your mind is obnubilated over, there has been many a time I have had the curse of the blinking cursor.

MJ

xxx

WORD OF THE DAY

Obnubilate [ob-noo-b uh-leyt, -nyoo-] Verb

  1. To cloud over; becloud; obscure

Origin: 1575-85 Latin

Please post a comment I always reply and enjoy your views

