Blogging, USA 2016

Washington DC Visit

As you are aware Calvin and I are returning to the United States of America for another mega road trip in November.  The route has pretty much been planned – for some time now but it’s the little things that I still need to sort out.  My intention is over my mid term break in a few weeks, that I will kick into full gear and complete the planning!

2016 road trip
the route for our 2016 USA road trip – no small feat!

Last weekend in between essay one and three, I decided to take a short break; I started to search for places to see and things to do in Washington DC.  It is not our 1st time in DC, so I wanted to see things that we haven’t been able too in the past.  The White House being one.  I had been told that over seas visitors cannot tour the White House – but having a five minute search online I found a few sites on how to get access.  It seems a little silly BUT you have to contact your embassy for them to forward your details to the White House for them to contact you and let you know… wait for it… that you can do a self-guided tour by OURSELVES!  Really, ALL that hassle so we can walk around without a guide?  But HEY it’s another country and another set of rules/ways and who am I do say its wrong or odd lol.

images

So off I go to contact my embassy… I had read on other travel sites forget contacting your embassy they never get back to you, they are not helpful blah blah blah.  Well, the New Zealand embassy must be slightly different than other embassies?  Because within 24 hours of my email, a staffer from the DC NZ embassy replied to my email – sadly not with the news I wanted to read – BUT they did reply – YAY the Kiwi Embassy RULES LOL :O.

For anyone from NZ that is thinking about contacting the embassy here is the reply we received…

Unfortunately, unprecedented levels of demand from within the US have significantly reduced the number of places available on White House tours for overseas visitors. As a result, we unfortunately cannot process any further applications.

We understand this is a disappointing policy for many, however the situation is due to factors outside of our control….

The email then went on to mention other places that we could visit and how to sort out tickets etc.  While it was not the reply I was hoping for; it was fast and I was not put out by waiting around not knowing what was happening like most of the complaints I read online were about.  I did read a post that said even though you are not a USA citizen you can still contact a state congressperson for them to forward your details to the White House, for the White House to you contact you, to let you know when you can do a self guided tour :L

mefi-fiamo-black

We decided to flag-it and just look from the outside LOL

M

10 of 21…

1 thought on “Washington DC Visit”

Please post a comment I always reply and enjoy your views

